8 Ways to Wellness

Discover the Dimensions for a Healthier You

Logo: 8 Dimensions of Wellness

A wheel with multiple colors divided into 8 sections, one of each listing the following:

1) Physical (depicting a cartoon outline of a person)
2) Intellectual (depicting an outline of a brain)
3) Emotional (depicting an outline of a heart)
4) Financial (depicting an outline of money)
5) Environmental (depicting an outline of a house)
6) Occupational (depicting an outline of a brief case)
7) Spiritual (depicting an outline of a lotus)
8) Social (depicting an outline of a the "share" symbol, which is three dots connected by lines into a triangle)

In the middle of this wheel is written "8 Dimensions of Wellness"

At UW-Extension, we know that being “well” is more than eating healthy and getting exercise. In fact, wellness is often categorized into several interconnected dimensions. This 8-session interactive series explores each of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s (SAMHSA) 8 Dimensions of Wellness and provides strategies and resources to create harmony and well-being within each. 

Are you a community leader interested in learning more about the 8 Dimensions of Wellness, how they interact with one another, and how they affect health? Contact Katie Jaegly, Health & Well-Being Educator, at 920-232-1979 or katie.jaegly@wisc.edu to schedule an “Eight Ways to Wellness for Leaders” presentation for your group.

8 Dimensions of Wellness

  1. Emotional Wellness
  2. Social Wellness
  3. Environmental Wellness
  4. Physical Wellness
  5. Occupational Wellness
  6. Spiritual Wellness
  7. Intellectual Wellness
  8. Financial Wellness